She had a face like a rotifer

These fluctuations
Manifest
It’s uncertainty
                                    Yeah
A twitch in the eye
Now I think I
Why I was never in control
                                    Yeah
Arising inescapably
A bunch of dots
In little groups
                                    Yeah
On a piece of paper
That’s all we are to them
All we are to them
                                    Yeah
Why it happens to me
Why it doesn’t happen
To you
                                    Yeah
Why it happens to me
Why it doesn’t happen
To you
                                    Yeah
We might be
Something else
Something somewhere else
                                    Yeah
You’re more here
& I’m more there
It’s who we are
                                    Yeah
We might be
Something else
Something somewhere else
                                    Yeah
You’re more here
& I’m more there
It’s who we are
                                    Yeah
Why it happens to me
Why it doesn’t happen
To you
                                    Yeah
Why it happens to me
Why it doesn’t happen
To you
                                    Yeah
She had a face like a rotifer
Wanted to be the first in line
Didn’t care what she was waiting for
                                    Yeah
She saw her name at the top of the list
She saw those numbers to the sky
But nobody came
                                    Yeah
Nobody came
She had a face like a rotifer
Looking back at me oh
                                    Yeah
Something broke under her heel
The timeline stopped an infinite
Of filaments fell out of her purse
                                    Yeah
Like intestines would
Or chiral liquid crystal marbles
We suck off in sequence
                                    Yeah
In a circle off the floor



One thought on “She had a face like a rotifer

  1. iwannabealady

    I’m so happy that I’m the first to comment! This is so very beautiful. I read it aloud and acted it as I did. I really felt like the speaker. I think it somehow feels like all of us, that “Yeah” is all of us. Am I making any sense? Okay, the rhythm, the images, the language that isn’t simple, but isn’t complex. It’s got balance. (I wish that I could save this comment in a drafts folder and reread it tomorrow to see if it makes any sense. Loved the poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

